Violin Competition 2015



Competition 2010






(Updated January 30, 2014)


The Sibelius Society and the Sibelius Academy are arranging the 11th International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition in Helsinki from November 22 to December 3, 2015. The competition is open to violinists born in or after 1985.


The link for online registration and application for the competition will be launched in April 2015 and closed August 12, 2015, ON THIS WEBSITE HERE.

Program of the Preliminary

J.S. Bach: Andante of Sonata for Solo Violin in A minor
Paganini: one Capriccio of the competitor’s choice
Sibelius: 1st movement of Violin Concerto in D minor Op.47


Adjudicators nominated by the Competition Committee will perform the pre-selection on the basis of the application documents and videos. Those accepted for the competition will be informed on September 17, 2015 at the latest.


The competitors (and their accompanists) invited to take part in the competition will be given accommodation in Helsinki free of charge during the entire period of the competition. Each competitor (and accompanist) covers one’s own travel expenses to Helsinki and back. However, the Competition Committee may, on application and at its own discretion, award travel grants for contestants not residing in Europe. The Secretariat will book hotel accommodation for those competitors (and accompanists) wishing to stay at a hotel at their own expense. Those needing a visa to enter Finland should obtain one themselves from the Finnish Consulate in their own country.


The order of playing in the competition will be decided by ballot at 12 o’clock noon on November 22, 2015 at the Helsinki Conservatory of Music, address: Ruoholahdentori 6. Each competitor should be either personally present or send a representative with a letter of authorisation. The order of performance will remain the same throughout the competition.


Competition program

The competition consists of three rounds, all of which are open to the public. The competition pieces must be played from memory, apart from the sonata and the commissioned piece performed in the second round. The competitors may perform the works of the first and second rounds in any order they choose.

First Round

November 23-25, 2015

Approximately 40 contestants will be accepted for the first round.

  1. Bartók: 1st movement of Sonata for Violin Solo
  2. J.S. Bach: two last movements of a Sonata for Violin Solo (G minor, A minor or C major) or two movements of Partita in D minor (Sarabanda and Giga) or two movements of Partita in E major ( Loure and Gavotte en Rondeau)
  3. Mozart: Rondo in C major KV 373
  4. Sibelius: one piece taken from the following works:
    Op. 2a  Romanze
    Op. 2b  Epilog
    Op. 79  Souvenir, Tempo di Minuetto, Danse
               caractéristique, Sérénade, Tanz-Idylle, Berceuse
    Op. 102 no. 1 Novellette
    Op. 106 Danses champêtres 1-5
    Op. 115 Auf der Heide/Nummella, Ballade, Humoresque,
                Die Glocken/Kellot
    Op. 116 Scène de danse, Danse caractéristique,             Rondeau romantique

Second Round

November 27-29,2015

Twenty contestants will be accepted for the second round.

  1. One of the following sonatas for violin and piano:
    Bartók (no. 1, 2), Beethoven (no. 1-6), Brahms (no. 1-3), Debussy, Fauré (A major), Janáček, Mendelssohn (F major), Schubert (A major), Prokofiev (no. 1, 2), Ravel (1927), Schnittke (no. 1, 2)
  2. Sibelius:
    Two Humoresques of competitor’s choice (Op. 87 and 89)
  3. A piece commissioned for the competition: an award-winning piece from Jean Sibelius Composition Competition 2015, of competitor's choice. The pieces will be sent to the competitor along with the notification of acceptance. The duration of the piece is 6-9 minutes.
  4. A virtuoso piece by one of the following composers:
    Ernst, Hubay, Paganini, Ravel, Saint-Saëns, Sarasate, Tchaikovsky, Waxman, Wieniawski, Ysaÿe

The total duration of the repertoire for the second round must not be more than 55 minutes.

Final Round

December 1 –December 3, 2015

Six contestants will be accepted for the final round.

  1. Sibelius: Violin Concerto in D minor Op. 47
  2. A violin concerto by one of the following composers:
    Bartók (no. 2), Beethoven, Berg, Brahms, Mendelssohn (Op. 64), Nielsen, Paganini (no.1), Prokofiev (no. 1, 2), Shostakovich (no. 1), Tchaikovsky


The Competition Committee will place accompanists at the competitors’ disposal free of charge. Before the first round, the competitors will have the right to rehearse for 1 hour and before the second round for 2 hours with the accompanist. Competitors may also bring their own accompanists at their own expense.


The jury consists of a Finnish Chairman, seven international and one Finnish member.



The value of the prizes will be as follows:




25.000 e




18.000 e




12.000 e

All other finalists will each receive a prize of 2.000 e. The jury reserves the right to distribute the prizes differently.

The Foundation of The Helsinki Conservatory of Music will award a special prize of 3.000 e.

The Sibelius family will award a special prize of 1.000 e for all competitors that qualify for the second round.

Concert engagements will be arranged as opportunities for the prize-winners in the competition. The first prize winner will be soloist of the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra on December 8, 2015 at a concert of Sibelius 150 jubilee year. A finalist chosen by the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra will be soloist at a concert in the beginning of year 2016.


The prizes will be awarded after the final round on December 3, 2015.


The organizers of the competition will have unlimited rights to broadcast the competition performances on radio and television, to make audio and video tapes, films and records and to show and distribute performance excerpts on the Internet and other data networks without paying any remuneration to the competitors or their accompanists.


The original language of these rules is Finnish. Any disagreements arising from them will be resolved by reference to the Finnish text. The procedure in the event of a force majeure contingency will be decided by the Competition Committee.