As expressed in its By-Laws, the International Society for the Philosophy of Music Education (ISPME) is founded on both educational and professional objectives: "devoted to the specific interests of philosophy of music education in elementary through secondary schools, colleges and universities, in private studios, places of worship, and all the other places and ways in which music is taught and learned."

ISPME seeks to:

(1) Gather, consider, and disseminate ideas on the philosophy and practice of music as an integral part of music education

(2) Increase communications on philosophy among the various disciplines of the music profession that bear on education

(3) Sponsor symposia as the Society deems necessary for the express purpose of exhibiting appropriate research and discussion

All members of the International Society for the Philosophy of Music Education are provided with a subscription to its peer-reviewed journal Philosophy of Music Education Review. Published twice per year, this journal "disseminates philosophical research in music education to an international community of scholars, artists, and teachers. It regularly includes articles that address philosophical or theoretical issues relevant to education, including reflections on current practice, research, issues, or questions; reform initiatives; philosophical writings; theories; the nature and scope of education and its goals and purposes; and cross-disciplinary dialogue relevant to the interests of music educators."

Additional information regarding ISPME may be obtained via the "Programs," "By-Laws," and "Minutes" links (see above), and more detailed and current information will be posted shortly by the Music Education Department of Sibelius Academy.


ISPME Executive Committee (2007-2010)

Elected Positions

Chairs: Heidi Westerlund & Randall Allsup

Program Chair: Werner Jank

Treasurer: Patrick Schmidt

Secretary: Liz Gould

Webmaster: Heidi Partti (2010)


ISPME Executive Committee (2005-2007)

Elected Positions

Chairs: Paul Woodford & Herman Kaiser

Program Chairs: Charlene Morton & Oivind Varkoy

Treasurer: Randall Allsup

Secretary: Deane Bogdan


Site Chair: Kari Veblen

Parliamentarian: Tony Palmer

Communications: John Kratus

Membership Secretary: Betty Anne Younker

Webmaster: Ted Love